Our Christmas tree

We decorated our Christmas tree last night ~ I think every year the simple beauty is a delight!

“Standing in front of the crowded benches was a tree.  Laura decided it must be a tree.  She could see its trunk and branches.  But she had never before seen such a tree…Laura was too excited to speak.  She squeezed Mary’s hand tighter and tighter, and she looked up at Ma, wanting so much to know what that was.  Ma smiled down at her and answered, ‘That is a Christmas tree, girls.  Do you think it is pretty?’  They could not answer.  They nodded while they kept on looking at that wonderful tree.”

From On the Banks of Plum Creek by Laura Ingalls Wilder

Wishing you Christmas simplicity just like in the “Little House” days!

Blessings

13 thoughts on “Our Christmas tree

  1. Sharon, your tree is beautiful. And the quote you shared was lovely too. Thank you for sharing.

    Wishing you and your dear ones a warm and peaceful time together this Christmas. xx

  2. I read the Little House books start to finish every year when the kids were little. I love the connection! Your tree is beautiful! I love it! Can I come over for a cup of tea? (o;

  3. Good Morning Sharon ~

    Your Christmas tree is so pretty! I love the Little House books! Thank you for sharing such sweet simplicity! You and your home share warmth and a feeling of contentment…a home that I would love to visit, share a cup of tea and spend some chatting time with you! Simple blessings for your day!

    Hugs ~
    Teri

  4. Christmas season greetings to you Sharon, Love your tree and the fact that is living. Your home looks so lovely; I love seeing how you are spending your time!
    Hugs, Noreen

  5. How sweet of your husband to buy the 2 lovely candles and your tree looks wonderful :o)

    I breathed a sigh as I read the quote from *Little House on the Prairie* and could feel the amazement and delight of little Mary and Laura … thanks for reminding me that I want to re-read that series and perhaps this winter will be the perfect time!

    Blessings ….

  6. Your tree is beautiful! I love the quote from Laura Ingalls Wilder (one of my favorite authors). She truly shows the wonder of Mary and Laura….we should all have that same wonder during Christmas. Thank you for sharing it.

  7. Hi Sharon, just picked up your comment on Lynn’s blog – you are in my prayers- God is with you, whatever comes home in the pay packet.
    I am not saying that as a glib response- but as someone who has been there too and known His amazing provision in ways far beyond our dreams. Advent blessings to you and yours x x x

  8. Thank you all for your encouraging comments ~ I appreciate them so much! You are all so sweet and kind & I feel so blessed to be able to visit with each of you! How fun it would be if we could all get together for a cup of tea!

    Thanks also, Angela, for your prayers ~ that means alot!

    Sweet blessings to each of you and your families during this wonderful holiday season!

    Sharon

Leave a Reply

