Cookie simplicity!

I have been waiting such a long time for this book from the library ~

Country Living Simple Country Wisdom

501 Old-Fashioned Ideas to Simplify Your Life

and already I have found an idea that I think is helpful!

~*Making your favorite cookie dough into logs for slice and bake cookies and putting them in the freezer*~

So far we have done chocolate chip (I used the mini chocolate chips because I thought they would make the dough easier to cut ~ but also one bag will make 2 regular size batches of cookies ~ so I think they are more frugal too!) and peanut butter!

I think having these ready in the freezer will make it so nice to be ready for hospitality!

I don’t know about your house ~ but there is a good possibility that an open bag of chocolate chips will not end up in cookies here 😉 so it is a good thing to get some cookie dough made and into the freezer!

Weekend blessings!

24 thoughts on “Cookie simplicity!

  1. Hi Sharon,

    I do this all the time. I found the more cookies lying around, the better the chance that I’m going to eat them! 🙂 So I will usually make a couple of dozen for Dan and the kids to eat and then I’ll freeze the rest into logs.

  2. Hi Sharon ~

    Such a nice idea! Thank you for sharing! Sunday blessings to you and your family!

    Hugs ~
    Teri

  3. Thanks so much for sharing this. I must look out for this book – I need to simplify my life!

    Blessings and hugs from one who has been following your blog silently for some time xx

  4. Smart! You may break out one of those frozen logs on a rainy, cold evening and celebrate peace and quiet – just because. Pour yourself a tall glass of milk, too!

  5. Hi Teri ~

    Sunday blessings to you! I am so happy to have some cookie dough in the freezer. Now we just have to save some for when we have company! 🙂

    Have a blessed week,
    Sharon

  6. Hi Terri ~ So true ~ if we make up a whole batch of cookies, it seems they are gone in no time! I do remember my Mom or Grandma making slice and bake refrigerator cookies but I never thought of trying other kinds of dough and freezing them like this! I think this might be a big time saver ~ especially if we don’t eat them up right away! 🙂

    Blessings for your week,
    Sharon

  7. Sharon,
    What a great idea! How ever did you find out that is what happens to our chocolate chips (Big SMILE)? I have done this with sugar cookies, but not chocolate cookies. Do you wrap in wax paper(or parchment) first before the foil wrap?
    Love your beautiful cards that you made.
    Have a blessed day 🙂

  8. Hi Miriam ~

    I’m so glad to know we’re not the only ones with disappearing chocolate chips! 🙂 I did wrap them in wax paper first and after wrapping in foil I placed them into a freezer bag. I think that will keep them fresher in the freezer for longer, however, I am pretty sure that they won’t be in there for too long! He!He! 🙂

    Thanks for your sweet comment about my cards too!

    Sweet Blessings to you!
    Sharon

  9. Hi Elizabeth ~

    I think this will work out to be a wonderful way for me to do cookies! If I bake the dough all up when I make it ~ it seems the cookies are gone in no time! At least I think this will help portion it out a bit! 🙂

    Blessings on your day!
    Sharon

  10. Hello Cathy ~

    We tried the peanut butter ones after they were frozen and although the dough was a little more crumbly ~ they were delicious! I think this will be something that will be helpful for me!

    Have a sweet day!

    Hugs & Blessings,
    Sharon

  11. What an excellent idea!

    When our kids lived at home, we always had disappearing chocolate chips :o)

    Now, alas, they are always there when I need them for baking :o(

    Blessings!

  12. This is a fabulous idea! My husband’s favorite is chocolate chip cookies. It would be so easy to use this whenever we felt like having a snack. Thank you for sharing this idea.

  13. I just found your blog and love it already. I am trying ways to have my family eat more healthy food. I buy the rolls of cookie dough from the store. I don’t know why I never thought about making my own roll. Do you use your own chocolate chip cookie recipe or one from the book? I am definitely going to be on the lookout for that book. Thanks for the idea and God Bless.

  14. Hi Donna ~

    Thank you for your visit and for your sweet comment! I had never thought of making my own cookie rolls either ~ but I am loving it so much! It makes having a snack of cookies so easy!

    I didn’t see a recipe in the book ~ I just used one I had at home just used the mini chocolate chips instead of regular ones.

    I hope you can give this a try too!

    Sweet blessings to you!
    Sharon

    P.S. I have just spent some visiting your site and I love it!! Your pictures are beautiful and everything looks so homey! I would have left a comment for you but I couldn’t figure out how to leave one! I will come back and visit some more when I have time! Blessings! 🙂

  15. Hi Susan ~

    You’re welcome! This has made having cookies for a snack so easy! I love having some extras on hand in the freezer. It makes me feel a little more prepared to be hospitable! 🙂

    Blessings to you,
    Sharon

  16. Hi Dallas ~

    I have been enjoying this idea so much. It is so easy to make up a batch of dough and not have to worry about spending more time baking the cookies too ~ yet having them ready in the freezer to bake. I saw a recipe for shortbread slice and bake cookies so I think that might be a good one to try too!

    Now, as for the disappearing chocolate chips ~ I think when all our kids are gone ~ we might still have this problem at our house! 😉

    Blessings on your week!
    Sharon

  17. To leave a comment you have to click on the title of the post. Try that and let me know. I very seldom get comments. I think I will see if my son-in-law can make it easier. Thanks so much for visiting me. I am new to the blog world but so much enjoy it. God Bless.

  18. Hi Ulrike ~

    Having this dough in the freezer has been wonderful! I know you can buy cookie dough like this in the refrigerator section at the store ~ I just never thought of making it myself and freezing it! 🙂

    Blessings on your day!
    Sharon

Leave a Reply

