A husband’s helper

“Every true wife makes her husband’s interests her own. While he lives for her, carrying her image in his heart and toiling for her all the days, she thinks only of what will do him good. When burdens press upon him she tries to lighten them by sympathy, by cheer, by the inspiration of love. She enters with zest and enthusiasm into all his plans. She is never a weight to drag him down; she is strength in his heart to help him ever to do nobler and better things.”

Home Making

by Dr. J. R. Miller

Isn’t this quote so inspiring and challenging?  I love it ~ and hope that God will be my strength to help me live it out!

Oh, how I want to be a woman who can help my husband accomplish all God has for him!

I hope it encourages you today as well!

Blessings!

Sharon

11 thoughts on “A husband’s helper

  1. A beautiful post. In a world that pulls women toward a “me” mentality, we all need to be reminded that we are our husband’s helpmate. I love that. I want to be that. Not a hindrance but a helper. Thanks for reminding me of that. Take care and God bless.

  2. Hi Sharon,
    I love this post…this is inspiring! J.R. Miller writes in such a way that always inspiries me to be a better wife to my husband. Thank you for sharing it!

    Have a lovely weekend!

  3. Sharon ~ Thank you so much for such an inspirational post! Thank you also for the encouragement that you have shared! So much to ponder and to strive to be better wives to our husbands! Sweet blessings for your weekend! Hugs ~ Teri

  4. Hi Sharon, That quote is fantastic. I have not read anything with content like that in a long long time. Many women today would not understand this and maybe even laugh it off. I really need to contemplate the message more and aspire to live that way in order to have the best possible marriage. Thanks for posting this quote. I appreciate it. Linda

  5. A wonderful, encouraging and thought-provoking quote!

    JR Miller’s writings are a treasure and I’m so glad there available online, freely :O)

  6. Hi Sharon!
    I was just speaking to a single young woman tonight. She talked about what she wanted a husband to do for her . . . all backwards, huh?

  7. Thank you all so much for the comments that you have left! It is such a blessing to hear from each of you!

    I hope you all are enjoying a week filled with simplicity & joy!

    Sharon

Leave a Reply

