Sending Autumn greetings

~♥~September blessings friends~♥~

I absolutely love to find small ways to celebrate special times. While browsing online I found some pretty fall teacup cards.  I thought it would be so fun to send a cozy cup of tea to my mom & mom-in-love & some friends to welcome in the autumn season.  However…it just wasn’t in my budget.  At first I was feeling a bit discouraged, but then I decided maybe I could make my own.  I remembered making these, and thought of using fall scrapbook paper to make them into a card ~ but my fall scrapbook choices were somewhat limited.    Then the Christmas tags I had made last year came to mind…and I thought ~ what about fabric?   So out came the fabric pieces ~ and I set to work.  My sweet man was listening to the football game and so it was the perfect opportunity to keep him company and be productive at the same time.  He is also so good at giving me needed help ~ like suggesting the addition of the little teabag tag!

While it was not what I had originally had in mind, I am so happy with the results!  I totally love the homespun look the fabric gives & it was so enjoyable and rewarding to be able to use what I had on hand to make this little autumn blessing to send without spending any money!  I still have two more to make and hopefully I can finish them up today!

Thank you, Lord, for Your blessing of encouragement & inspiration!

I hope your days are being filled with some September loveliness!

Sharon

22 thoughts on “Sending Autumn greetings

  1. These are so sweet! I have many tea drinking friends and family so I am thinking that I might try and make a few of my own to send. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Oh Sharon…I think the ♥tea cards♥ are so charming! I love the homespun look! You share such inspiration…in how to make something so very special on a limited budget! Thank you for sharing! Sweet and simple blessings!

  3. What a great idea. They are so cute and creative. I am sure those who receive your card will be blessed.
    ~Alana~

  4. Sharon, what lovely tea cards. Would you mind giving deatails as to size of the square, tea cup and how you glued etc. Thanks for sharing. vivian

  5. How creative! I looked at your Christmas gift tags post as well and those are so cute. I’m sure your friends and family will feel blessed to receive them.

    In His grace,
    Teresa

  6. Hi Debi ~

    Thank you so much for sweet comment! I received so much enjoyment making these. Doing the blanket stitch around the edge made is a good evening handwork project. I hope you can try making some!

    Blessings,
    Sharon

  7. Thanks, Teri!

    It was such a fun project and even though I originally wanted to just purchase some cards to send, this really turned out to be a blessing from the Lord to me!

    Blessings,
    Sharon

  8. Hi Susan ~ I so appreciate your sweet comment! I finished up the rest last night and addressed the envelopes today ~ I am looking forward to putting them in the mail!

    Blessings,
    Sharon

  9. Hi Alana ~ How nice to have you visit! ♥Welcome♥
    Thank you for your sweet encouragement. I do hope that the Lord will bless those that I send them to.

    I hope that you can visit again!

    Blessings to you,
    Sharon

  10. Hi Vivian ~ ♥Welcome♥ And thank you for your encouraging words!

    Let’s see…I will try and give some directions for you…I used blank greeting cards that I had ~ they were either 5 1/2 x 4 inches or 5 1/2 x 4 1/4 inches when folded. I added a piece of scrapbooking paper on the top. The teacup was a pattern that I had found at Home living for making a paper teacup holder. I made some of them and loved them. If you go to this post and click on the link for Home Living, it will take you to the pattern ~ https://theshepherdshouse.wordpress.com/2008/11/07/tea-time-cards/ I just cut the bottom part off the pattern for these to make it a little simpler for this project. Since I was using fabric for the teacup, I wanted to make it a little sturdier so I used Wonder Under to adhere the fabric piece to some felt. After cutting it all out I just used the blanket stitch to finish the edge all around the teacup. This was probably more complicated than I needed to do and there might be a simpler way, but I was happy with how they turned out. I had used Elmer’s glue when I made them out of paper, but I decided to use hot glue this time for the fabric.

    I hope this helps some ~ if you have any questions, don’t hesitate to email me ~ there is a link on my sidebar ~ and I will be happy to answer any questions you might have!

    Blessings to you,
    Sharon

  11. Hi Teresa ~

    Thank you so much for your encouraging comment!

    I had such fun making these teacup cards and the Christmas ornaments too. I find it such a blessing to make things! I hope these cards will be a little fall blessing when they are received in the mail!

    Sweet blessings,
    Sharon

  12. Hi Sharon!
    Oh, they are wonderful! Way to go! I love your idea of sending a celebratory cup of tea to people you love. Your artwork will surely bless!

  13. Good Day Sharon, thank you so much for taking the time to detail the tea cards. I am getting some winter projects gathered not only for myself but ones that I can do with my grand= ‘blessing of my heart’= son. He enjoys working with his hands and age 7 as he is, I am always looking.

    I have been encouraged by your sharings, may the Lord continue to direct and inspire you by His Holy Spirit in edifying others through you. May you be encouraged also by God in all areas of your life.

    In Joy
    vivian

  14. Hello Vivian ~ it was so nice to hear from you again! Thank you for your sweet encouragement ~ it truly was a blessing to my heart today!

    That is a wonderful idea to be gathering up some wintertime projects; and especially sweet that you have a special one to work alongside! It is so fun to work with our hands! Have you seen the window stars? My 13 year old made some this summer and we have them hanging in our kitchen window ~ they are so bright and cheery! My husband was just suggesting that she could make some using fall colors which I think is a lovely idea. This is where I first saw them, and she adds some links towards the end of the post. http://eyesofwonder.typepad.com/my_weblog/2009/02/piglet-sidled-up-to-pooh-from-behind.html

    Thank you so much for your visit. If you would like to share, I would love to hear about all the wonderful projects you decide upon.

    May the Lord bless you richly today ~
    Sharon

  15. Thank you, Deby, for your sweet encouragement. So far I have just made things mostly for the pleasure of making things & for giving…but I do think an Etsy shop might be fun!

    I hope you are having a lovely day! Is it looking like fall at your house?

    Sweet blessings,
    Sharon

Leave a Reply

