What’s in your recipe box?

Special times as a family and even a fun time with my mom visiting one Valentine’s day!

Food is such an integral part of our lives ~ it makes up the simple everyday meals ~ and also the special meals of celebration ~ it brings back memories & makes new ones

I purchased an issue of Country Magazine from earlier this year at the library recently and there was a story about all the love and treasure hidden away within the recipe box.

Isn’t that so true?

For the last several years ~ I have been working on my own treasury of recipes adding in a little sprinkling of pictures ~ sweet memories & treasured recipes.  This magazine story has encouraged me to be even more purposeful in creating a special treasury.

~Here are some things I would like to include in my recipe collection~

Seasonal recipes

Holiday & special occasion recipes

Family favorites

Fair winning recipes that our family has entered

Yummy healthy foods

Passed down recipes

My grandma lived with us growing up and I remember her simple ~ kind of beat up looking ~ recipe box.  I really wasn’t interested at the time ~ but how I would love to be able to sit down and browse through it now.

What are some of the treasures in your recipe collection?  Do you have an all-time favorite recipe?  With the fall season approaching ~ do you have any recipes that are special to you at this time?

Can you believe it is Friday already? ~ May your weekend be filled with sweet memories!

Sharon

12 thoughts on “What’s in your recipe box?

  1. I was thinking only yesterday I need to update my folder – I have tattered slips of paper waiting to be stuck in! Yet again you have inspired me. Sharon. I love your book. I never thought to include photos! I think this will be a nice Winter project – thank you 🙂
    L.x.

  2. I am home…….and I get to come over and say Hi! What a precious post. Love the pic’s and I have one of my Grandmothers recipe box. It is in storage right now……makes me want to go find it.

    Beautiful cool day in Kansas today. Cleaning the kitchen real good and then I will get to sew a bit. Can’t wait!!

    Hugs sweet friend, Linda

  3. Mine is looking a little scruffy too ~ maybe that is a good sign 🙂 Oh…Peanut Butter Bon Bons ~ they sound so good ~ can you tell I like sweets ~ HE!HE! 🙂

    I hope your week ahead is a lovely one!
    Sharon

  4. Oh how nice to have a visit, Linda. I’m so glad that your Saturday was a beautiful homey one.

    Sweet blessings for your week ahead ~ I will be thinking of you! I was thinking about all the yummy things you bake up for the students at the college ~ you may be giving a taste of “home” to some students who may need a little homeyness in their day.

    Hugs to you too,
    Sharon

  5. Hi Lynn ~ Yes, I too, always have a little pile of papers…recipes to try and recipes needing to be stuck in. It seems like a never ending project! 🙂 I made a recipe book for my oldest daughter when she got married ~ and added in pictures for her ~ so many special memories around favorite foods. Now that two of my kids have left home ~ I enjoy having the special memories when I bring out my recipe book.

    Working on this would be a nice winter project!

    Sweet blessings & hugs to you this week!
    Sharon

  6. Good Evening Sharon, I am really enjoying your ideas. As for some of the winter projects I desire to do with Aidan…… making salt dough, the window stars, I bought a cd program, The Fundamentals of Beginning Drawing by Barry Stebbing. I think I am enjoying it more. A while back I subscribed to a new magizne, A Primitive Place, ( I enjoy primitives very much), in the back they shared some projects for decorating, giving full details; one is for a bee skep, another for a wooden sunflower on a dowl. Today we spray painted some clay pots, after they dried we painted a smiley face on one, polka dots on another, lady bug, and a butterfly on two more. Tomorrow we will pot some rootings from house plants I do, and on Tuesday we will be taking them to the local nursing home to some of the residents. I began braiding a rug last winter and have hopes of finishing it this winter. Aidan is my untangler on my strips. I also found a very nice dated doll furniture book on ebay and Aidan and Papa have hopes of getting a project going there, as we want to make a doll house at some point.

    We may not get to all, but they will keep.
    God is good as we have had a most restful, peaceful day and looking to a full week, and His leading.
    May your days ahead be blessed.
    In Joy vivian

  7. Good evening Vivian!

    Thank you for sharing all of your wonderful project ideas for the winter! What special things to be working on and what special memories you are making with Aidan! I am sure that the residents of the nursing home will be so blessed by your creativity and thoughtfulness when you take them the plants in the sweet pots.

    I love making gift tags and I recently found a link for making some primitive tags using coffee to stain them. I am thinking I may give this a try for my Christmas tags this year. I like the primitive look too! I have a braided fabric rug that we purchased at a fund raising auction. It is such a favorite of mine and I think it would be so fun to make one!

    We,too, enjoyed a lovely Sunday spending some sweet time with our daughter & son-in-law and our two precious grandchildren. They are both under two and bring such joy to our lives. God is so good!

    Thank you so much for your sweet visit and inspiration! It is such a blessing!

    May the Lord bless you in the new week ahead,
    Sharon

Leave a Reply

