~ Farm inspiration ~

…to our day at the farm!

Today has been a picture perfect fall day!  A sunny Saturday seemed like a wonderful opportunity to make a trip to the farm!  We headed out to a small picturesque working farm that I had read about.  These sunny sunflowers greeted us warmly as we pulled into the parking lot!  Don’t sunflowers just make you smile?

It was filled with old-fashioned simplicity~

and beautiful colors!

We took a stroll out to the u-pick gardens ~

And spent some time browsing in the farm store!  I think this was one of my favorite spots!  It was small but it was filled with such beauty & color ~

And yummy sweetness too!

The many beautiful quilts that were on display around the little store were so inspiring!

I especially liked this one ~ a little cottage surrounded by flowers and a picket fence ~ doesn’t it just say “Welcome”?

And the old-fashioned displays were so pretty!

One of the things we found out while we were at the farm was that a farm tour was going on in the area and so we were able to visit a number of other farms as well.  We visited an organic farm, a CSA farm, a Christmas tree farm where we were able to tour a 1906 farmhouse,  and a farm that had a variety of animals and a historic barn.

So many delights to enjoy today!

One of the things I really enjoyed were the little flower gardens out on the farms ~ the simple rustic~ness of the gardens and paths.  They really inspired me for what I would love to do here at home.  It is so untraditional looking compared to what is usually found here in suburbia, and I think it has been a little hard for me to break out of that and just go with what I love!  I have so much inspiration from today to ponder!

Maybe I can be a farmgirl after all! ~Smile~

Thanks for spending time with me on our fun farm day!

May your Sunday be blessed and your heart filled with joy!

Sharon

18 thoughts on “~ Farm inspiration ~

  1. It looks like you had a delightful day! That is a beautiful farm to visit. Thanks for sharing those pretty pictures. Autumn is here for sure. Blessings ~

  2. I remember a sweet little herb farm in Issaquah. Everything was so beautiful. I think you can be a farm girl. Absolutely. Do you subscribe to Mary Jane’s Farm? It features farm girls in the city. When I go home to the Skagit Valley, I appreciate the farm atmosphere so much. I’m so glad you had such a great farm tour, Sharon! Great post!

  3. Your photographs are so beautiful! I love the old stove with veggies and honey and I have been thinking that it is time to go get pumpkins for my porch so the pumpkin picture grabbed me too. Such a lovely day you had. It is cold and rainy here today so thanks for sharing your sunny day!

  4. I love all these pictures! Yes, sunflowers make me
    very happy, and pumpkins–all sizes, the quilts
    are beyond gorgeous, and those delectable veggies
    make my mouth water! It wouldn’t do for me to
    visit that farm because I would want to bring
    home everything I saw.
    Blessings,
    Sandy

  5. Hi Sharon,
    What a great post! It looks like you had a wonderful day! I have enjoyed your beautiful photos. I would love to do something like this…how fun! Thank you so much for sharing about it. 🙂

  6. Hello Sharon,

    What a glorious day you must have had! Everything you shared looks so pretty…I am especially fond of the old fashioned stove – they are so nice to look at 🙂

    The quilts, and all those lovely flowers – it certainly looks like the day was just perfect!

    Thank you for taking us along …

    Maria

  7. Hi Pom Pom ~

    I would enjoy visiting an herb farm very much! I found a copy of Mary Jane’s Farm magazine last year on sale at the library! I love it and have it sitting on an end table ~ I’m keeping it for inspiration!

    Thanks for your sweet visit!
    Sharon

  8. Hi Debi ~

    I loved the old stove too! It was a very lovely day and we were so blessed to have such beautiful weather. The next morning I woke up to the sound of rain!

    Pumpkins…yes! I love pumpkin time!

    Have a lovely day,
    Sharon

  9. Hi Sandy ~

    It was such a fun day out at the farms and I just loved all the things in the little farm shop! It was filled with such beauty and color! I did bring home a jar of raw honey ~ and those beautiful quilts inspired me to want to do some quilting again!

    It was lovely to have you visit! Have a blessed day!
    Sharon

  10. Thanks, Susan ~ How nice to visit with you! It was such a fun day out and about visiting some farms. I just love time out in the country and would like to find some ways to add some country touches to our own yard and gardens!

    Have a sweet day!
    Sharon

  11. Hi Maria ~ It was nice that you could come along on our little farm day! We had a wonderful time and were so blessed with the lovely weather that day. The next day we woke up to rain!

    I found such inspiration on our little time away that I hope I can use to add some country touches here at home.

    Sweet blessings to you today!
    Sharon

  12. Hi Lea ~

    ♥Welcome♥ It is so nice to meet you! The weather was just perfect to spend some time in the country enjoying the blessings of the season! I hope you are enjoying some autumn loveliness in the area you live too!

    Thanks so much for taking the time to leave me such a sweet comment ~ it was encouragement in my day!

    Sweet blessings to you!
    Sharon

  13. I sure like how you use photos, Sharon. Your blog is easy to read – not too wordy. It is a very nice place to visit and be refreshed. Have a nice day. Linda

Leave a Reply

