~♥Creating at home♥~

Homemade cream and lip balm

What joy and satisfaction I am finding in making things myself!   With some fresh homespun inspiration ~ I am starting to compile a list of some things I would like to try and work on this next year ~

tea towels

cloth bread bags

crocheted dishcloths

crocheted slippers

beeswax candles

homemade soap

basket making

The other day I was reading Proverbs 31 and although I have read it many times, several verses seemed fresh and just what I needed that day.  Don’t you just love how God’s word is like that?  This was one of the verses I wrote down as encouragement to myself ~ “And works with her hands in delight.”  Proverbs 31:13b (NASB®)  I want that this attitude would be in me ~ that I would truly take delight in all the simple pleasures & tasks that the Lord provides for me to work on!

I hope this week before Christmas is filled with some quiet moments and simplicity for each of you!

Simple Blessings & Love,

Sharon

22 thoughts on “~♥Creating at home♥~

  1. Hi Sharon, our weather the last few days have had us in and I am glad I had a stock of crafty things to do. Your lip balm looks good enough to eat : ). Your list also is full of the kind of diligent working of the hands that will be fruitful and a blessing.
    We are working on paper snowflakes, a first for us.
    In Joy, vivian

  2. How true, there’s nothing more satisfying than making things! I love how God’s Word is living and fresh. Loved reading this post Sharon!

    Love, Tina xx

  3. Dear Sharon…I love all that you have shared here! I too…have been pondering over what I would like to learn and do in “2011” as well! As I have enjoyed my “Homestead Blessings” DVD’s…sharing many homey projects and how to do and make so many items for our home and to make homespun gifts…I am looking forward to a new year…spending much time in our home…spending less money…truly making this a year of simplicity! Sweet and simple blessings my dear friend as we fill our homes with love and warmth…that comes from our hearts as we work with our hands! Hugs ♥ Teri

  4. Hello Vivian ~ It is a blessing to have a stock of crafty things to work on. Such a joy!

    Paper snowflakes ~ how delightful! Abbie recently made some snowflakes using fabric paint and they are windowclings ~ such fun for her and pretty too! Enjoy your cozy days at home!

    Sweet blessings to you,
    Sharon

  5. Thank you, Tina! For some reason I have just had so much more enjoyment in making things lately ~ and then when I read that verse, it encouraged me even more. I should be delighting in working with my hands!

    God’s word is living and fresh ~ such a blessing!

    Sweet joys to you today!
    Sharon

  6. Hello Teri ~

    I’m glad that you have enjoyed the DVD series. I have only seen the one on candlemaking but I found it inspiring! Aren’t there just so many wonderful things to learn and work on ~ simple pleasures & possibilities for homespun gifts of simplicity. I’m looking forward to this new year too and “working with my hands in delight.”

    Thanks for your sweet encouragement today!

    Hugs,
    Sharon

  7. Oh Sharon, these items are just lovely! I can’t believe you made them! I’ve never attempted to make anything like that ~ it looks so fun. I know I would be tickled to be the recipient of such effort! Looks like a wonderful list of things to make, and I appreciate how you applied that verse to such projects. I agree that God’s Word does have something fresh jump out often ~ His Word is so very wonderful above all else!

    Thank you also for your incredibly encouraging comment today! I appreciated the lovely verses you left for me most of all! Yes yes…what a privilege and amazing responsibility that I cannot ponder that I have been entrusted with the Gospel to give out! I remember you posting on refreshing others in Christ…well, you definitely did that for me today ~ thank you!!

    Blessings to your family as you prepare to celebrate His birth,
    Katie

    1 Thessalonians 5:11

  8. Dear Sharon,
    I just love everything you are working on…sounds like my house! Would love to hear your recipe for the lip balm and cream. These are great projects for cold wintry months!

    Have a blessed weekend,
    Laura

  9. I’ve never dreamed of making lip balm or cream ~ sounds very ambitious and much be so satisfying to have made it with your own hands!

    Thanks for sharing that verse about delighting in working with our hands — that’s something I’m still learning to revel in and it’s relatively new for me — you were such an inspiration to *just give it a try* and a lady who works in our local craft store told me the worst I could do is *waste* a piece of paper — to just TRY!

    I’m glad I did :o)

  10. Hi Sharon,
    An inspiring post! I would like to make some of my own things, but am not very good at doing those kinds of things. I hope you get a chance to get to some of the things on your list next year.

    I hope you enjoy a very Merry Christmas with your family!

  11. Hello Katie ~

    Thank you so much for your sweet comment! It was so encouraging to me, and I so appreciated the scripture ~ it was just what I needed! 🙂 I think it is just wonderful to be able to visit and find inspiration and encouragement through blogs! You are a such a blessing!
    I hope this week up to Christmas is filled with joy and peace for you and your family!

    Hugs,
    Sharon

  12. Hello Donna ~

    I love making gifts too! I think handmade gifts are filled with so much love and care and it gives me such joy to work on things!

    Many this week be a blessed one for you!
    Sharon

  13. Hi Laura ~

    Isn’t it so much fun to have works-in-progress going on at home?

    These were very fun projects for me. I found the recipe for the lotion here: http://www.rachelssupply.com/bwax.htm
    It is the Vitamin E Cream. I found that you need to keep stirring it off and on until it cools or it tends to separate. It is a nice soft cream and I have been enjoying it!
    The lip gloss I experimented with ~ I used 1 tsp. coconut oil, 1/2 tsp. olive oil and 2 teaspoons of grated beeswax. I just melted these and then I added some essential oil after it was melted in some of the ones I did, but it is lovely without it. If I double the recipe ~ it makes enough for 3 tubes.

    I also tried a recipe for a shea butter body butter which is nice, especially at bedtime.

    The winter is such a nice time for projects at home!

    May this week be a blessed one for you and your loved ones!
    Sharon

  14. Hi Dallas ~

    Yes, these projects were so satisfying. I love that there aren’t many ingredients and they were very simple.

    I am always so blessed to see all that you are working on in your craft room! You are definitely abounding in working with your hands, Dallas! It’s wonderful! 🙂 I’m glad that I could be an inspiration in some small way.

    May this Christmas week be filled with His presence and blessings in your home!
    Sharon

  15. Hello Elizabeth ~

    I am looking forward to beginning some of these projects. I know some might be stretching for me ~ but that is probably a good thing, and I know it will be rewarding.

    Sweet Christmas blessings to you!
    Sharon

  16. Hello Susan ~

    A very Merry Christmas to you and your family!

    I am looking forward to working on some of these things this new year. I am always a little apprehensive starting new things but it is so rewarding when I have a measure of success! 🙂

    Sweet blessings to you,
    Sharon

  17. hello sis sharon, been awhile now since i have written to you. i love your blog.full of inspiration and alive.
    also love to wish u greetings of the xmas season and an advance 2011!
    take special care and God bless you and all!

  18. Oh, hello ~ sweet friend!♥ Thanks for coming by and blessing me today ~ it is so good to hear from you! Thank you for your encouraging comment too.

    May the Lord richly bless you and your family this Christmas season and in the New Year!

    Hugs,
    Sharon

Leave a Reply

