On my mind today…

I was talking to my father-in-law this morning on the phone and he was telling me of when Bill first started going out with me ~ about the gleam in his eye and the bounce in his step.  My first thought was how sweet that was…but then it made me wonder…is that still true?  Kind of a sobering thought when you consider what a difference we as wives can make.

♥♥♥♥

“It is a high honor for a woman to be chosen from among all womankind to be the wife of a good and true man. She is lifted up to be a crowned queen. Her husband’s manly love laid at her feet exalts her to the throne of his life. Great power is placed in her hands. Sacred destinies are reposed in her keeping. Will she wear her crown beneficently? Will she fill her realm with beauty and with blessing? Or will she fail in her holy trust? Only her married life can be the answer…Can she be a true wife to him who asks for her hand? Is she worthy of the love that is laid at her feet? Can she be a blessing to the life of him who would lift her to the throne of his heart? Will he find in her all the beauty, all the tender loveliness, all the rich qualities of nature, all the deep sympathy and companionship, all the strengthful, uplifting love, all the sources of joy and help, which he seems now to see in her?”  ~ Homemaking~ J.R. Miller

“The heart of her husband trusts in her,
and he will have no lack of gain.”

Proverbs 31:11 (ESV)

Contemplation for my day!

Blessings to you!♥

Sharon

 

 

17 thoughts on “On my mind today…

  1. Lots to chew on here!! These very thoughts have been on my mind lately ~ and several blogging friends lately have written articles on marriage recently. I think the Lord is gently nudging me to take a closer look at how I’m fulfilling my role and privilege to be my husband’s wife! Thank you for this encouragement!

    Blessings to you and your family, Sharon!
    Katie

  2. Beautiful flowers, beautiful words and a beautiful person. From what I read, I think you have an inner beauty that is hard to find. Enjoy your day and God bless.

  3. Dear Sharon,
    What a beautiful post…I just love J.R. Miller. What a gentle reminder that we need to focus on our Lord…and our family.

    God bless you,
    Laura

  4. Dear Katie, Laura, Donna & Pom Pom ~

    I am sorry I am so slow to respond, but I wanted to thank you so much for your sweet comments! It is always a blessing to visit & I am so thankful for you and your willingness to take time to stop by and leave a message and encouragement! I hope this week will be filled with simple pleasures & blessings for each one of you!

    Love,
    Sharon

  5. I really loved the JR Miller quote ~ very wise words!

    Beautiful spring is on its way – soon the days will be getting longer. Haven’t heard any birds in the early morning yet but am on the lookout for my 1st robin :o)

    Blessings!

  6. J.R. Miller has some very inspirational words to ponder.

    I just started noticing the birds in the mornings here ~ such a lovely sound! Soon the days will be filled with warmth and more spring loveliness! Hoping you see your first robin soon!

    Weekend Blessings to you, Dallas!
    Sharon

  7. HELLO SIS SHARON, HOW HAVE U BEEN? I ALWAYS LIKE WHAT I SEE N READ IN YOUR POSTINGS. MAY GOD KEEP U WELL AND SAFE. TAKE CARE AND SWEET MOMENTS FOR U….:)

  8. Hello sweet friend ~ you always bless me so much by your visits! I have been well ~ how have you been? I hope you are well and enjoying sweet blessings from the Lord.

    Have a lovely day & come back soon! 🙂
    Sharon

Leave a Reply

