Glimpses of simplicity


Simplicity ~ Don’t most of us want it?  But how do we find it?  And just what does a truly simple life look like?  It seems there is always a search for more simplicity in life.

A bit of simplicity in storing my fabric

I have spent time trimming down and reorganizing!  Previously my fabric was stored in two different locations ~ a big portion of it stuffed into a drawer ~ definitely not an organized or simple plan!  I am loving this plan much better!  The larger pieces of fabric and felt are now stored on a shelf in the linen closet along with these baskets.  Knowing what I have and being able to get to it easily is wonderful.   For the most part, it definitely helps to keep possessions at a minimum and then to have the things you do have organized and readily accessible.  But it seems there is just no set plan for simplicity, and following someone else’s plan just might not work for you.  For example, I am finding that having a larger pantry stock makes life much more simple for me.  I don’t run out of things and have to make a trip to the store, and I am much more able to offer hospitality at the spur of the moment.  Less of some things, more of others it seems.

    Something else that has been tugging at my heart lately is that while there are many ways that we can keep things simple externally, could it be that enjoying a truly simple life is not found by following a list of how to’s ~ but is found by simply abiding in the Lord and following His course for us?

♥♥♥♥♥♥

I read this quote almost a year ago and it has encouraged me immensely!  While it doesn’t speak anything about a simple life ~ it has really encouraged me in that way.

“Ascertain your place in God’s plan, and get on to it.”

F. B. Meyer

The Lord is really solidifying some things for me that I feel He wants me to be about.   And this quote has been so helpful in this process!  It is making choices so much simpler.  I am starting to see if something fits into the overall plan or if it will just add clutter to my life.

Simply abiding in Christ ~ knowing His ways and His plans and laying aside my own ~there is definitely rest and peace & simplicity in that!

♥♥♥♥♥♥

“Life becomes wonderfully simple when you have only one Person to please.”

Helena Garratt

May you find joy and simplicity as you abide in Him today!

Blessings,

Sharon

15 thoughts on “Glimpses of simplicity

  1. This is simple and true. I couldn’t agree more
    and the quotes are wonderful. One of my favorite
    books is “Abide In Christ” by Andrew Murray.
    I want to live a simple life abiding in faith
    in the simplicity of the gospel of Jesus Christ.
    Blessings,
    Sandy

  2. Hi Sandy ~ my husband has been going through “Abide in Christ”, and we are reading the Secrets of Prayer by Andrew Murray together in the mornings.

    I think I am starting to see some simplicity that I have missed before!

    Blessings to you,
    Sharon

  3. Sharon, that is a lovely post, and really speaks to me. (Certainly about fabric storage!)
    Simplicity is an attitude of mind too, I think. We learn to stop striving and just to ‘be’ in Him.

  4. Thank you for this. I think you are right about how to live a simple life, and I especially like the F B Meyer quote, although I know that this is where I stumble, in actually ascertaining my place to begin with!

  5. Thank you for such lovely views today.. To just try and please Him makes life more simple.. I appreciate your thoughts so much..
    Blessings..

  6. Dear Sharon…much to ponder with what you have shared! This is a quote that I enjoy. I find it to be very true. The trouble with simple living is that, though it can be joyful, rich and creative, it isn’t simple. ~Doris Janzen Longacre. Simplicity…to me is…I am sure very different than what others would call simplicity. Each person has to determine what simplicity is to them…as well as the feeling of contentment that goes along with living simply! I enjoyed all that you have shared here! Hugs ♥ Teri

  7. Yes, yes!! Wow, what words of wisdom in this post, Sharon. Our pastor from our home up north always said, “There is no safer place to be than in the center of God’s will.” Yes, I identify with your sentiment here very much!! To seek, stay, and abide in the Lord’s will and that alone!! I’ve always been somewhat of a “people pleaser”. God has used this for His glory now that I’ve been a Christian, but it is easy for me to get tripped up and take too much on or try to do things that take away from other priorities, and I have to constantly re-evaluate how I use my time. So many times, I find it necessary to restructure my activities to align with God’s priorities for my life. I think Galatians 1:10 speaks to this! Wonderful post, as always! I love visiting here as I always feel a bit “sharpened” in my faith. 🙂

    Blessings,
    Katie

  8. Such a true post. Thanks for sharing. This is the most important thing in life, I think. Abiding in Him and being in His will. Enjoy your day and God bless.

  9. Thanks so much to all of you for visiting and also for sharing from your own experiences ~ it really is an encouragement!

    I hope each of you has a blessed week! Joy to you!
    Sharon

  10. Hi Sharon, this topic has many a ponderings for all of us. In our seeking God on the issue,last year I looked the word up in Webster’s 1828 American Dictionary of the English Language and the last definition has stuck with me, it says, “Godly simplicity, in Scripture is a fair open profession and practice of evangelical truth, with a single view to obedience and to the glory of God.” I have copied it and placed it on my computer table, so I can be constantly be reminded. I love Webster’s 1828 dictionary, there is so much depth in it. Also a bit sorrowful to see and hear how our language has deteriorated. I enjoy your sharings so much, thanks.

    In Joy,
    vivian

  11. Dear Sharon,

    I’ve been meaning to stop by your place for a few days now…but the weather has been so nice we’ve been outside in the garden! I absolutely love the comment by Helena Garratt…so true…and if we are pleasing our Lord…more than likely others will be pleased with us as well. I came across a quote this morning…don’t know who said it…but it speaks of simplicity.

    Inch by inch,
    Life’s a cinch.
    Yard by yard,
    Life is hard.

    Sometimes I think we just overload ourselves with “too much” and then the task of life seems overwhelming. I’ve been trying to just take “one step at a time” each day(with my Lord’s guidance, of course)…and I am so much more at peace.

    This is a great post…thanks for sharing.
    Have a blessed day,
    Laura

  12. Hi Laura,

    It is always such a joy to be able to visit with you!
    I love what you have shared. I have been thinking similar thoughts…resting in Him and just taking one step at a time ~ there truly is peace in that!

    I hope you are still enjoying some outside weather…such a blessing isn’t it? It has been colder here than normal and I am getting a slow start to outside projects. This afternoon, though, is beautiful, and I spent a little time enjoying being out in the sunshine.

    Sweet blessings for your week,
    Sharon

  13. Hello Vivian ~ Thank you for sharing! For the most part I think I have looked at simplicity from external how to’s in the practical aspects of things, and have missed some important things on simplicity in Christ. This all has been so helpful and encouraging to me.

    Such a blessing to visit!
    Sharon

Leave a Reply

