More envelope making

I had another idea for envelopes ~ wrapping paper!  I love using pretty magazines when I can find them ~ my favorite so far being the Ideals magazines I found at the library book sale back in the fall, and I know some people use old calendar pages.  There are probably lots of other possibilities too!

So here is a little tutorial of my adventures today!

This is the template that my husband made me when I wanted some envelopes for cardmaking

It is 10 x 81/2 which includes the little side flaps

Just lay the template onto the paper you are working on ~ a roll of wrapping paper in this instance, and cut around.  You can trace around it and then cut it out if you’d rather

Now we are ready to fold and glue!

Fold over the side flaps first and crease

Now bring up the bottom piece and crease

I glue just along the side edges of the bottom piece and maybe a little on the bottom of the flap pieces and press into place

Now bring the top flap down ~ A straight edge is helpful to me when folding the pieces and making a crease

The finished envelope!  I do really like this size envelope because it will fit cards that I like to use for cardmaking or a letter

After I put the contents inside the envelope, I just use a glue stick again to seal down the top piece

A couple more envelopes.  Although not quite as pretty ~ I do like the checked kraft paper one as it is a little more sturdy.  A saw some kraft wrapping paper at the Dollar Tree that had red balloons on it that would make cute envelopes for birthday cards!

As for labels, sometime I would like to get some real labels that you put in the printer, but so far I have just made my own labels on the computer, cut them out and then use a piece of packaging tape to stick them on!  Sometimes I like to put the return address label on the back flap to keep the front a little less cluttered and pretty!

I would love to see your envelopes if you make some ~ I’m sure there are so many ways to be creative with this!  I just love pretty mail! 🙂

Have a blessed & joyous day!

Sharon

16 thoughts on “More envelope making

  1. Hi Sharon.. I so love the envelopes.. I love pretty mail, too..I will be using your idea to show the ladies at Keepers of the Home meeting on Saturday. I think they will like it..
    Thank you …

  2. Oh my goodness, this is a wonderful idea! I love them. Thank you so much for sharing. I am making a homemade craft idea folder and this is definitely going in it. God bless.

  3. Dear Sharon…oh this is such a sweet homemade project! I love all of the homespun treasures that you have shared in the past…as well! Thank you for sharing this! Simple Blessings ♥ Teri

  4. Good morning Donna!

    I started a folder like that and it is wonderful, some of the things I have made and I keep the pattern pieces in it too. This is where I keep my paper template for the envelopes…the folder is getting quite full! 🙂

    Have a blessed weekend!
    Sharon

  5. Wow, you are so creative, my friend. I love pretty envelopes too. Thanks so much for your sweet visit. Have a blessed weekend.

  6. Hi Sharon!
    How are you? I hope you are doing well and that it isn’t raining too much! It IS raining here!
    I learned to make envelopes when I went to Lutheran church camp long, long ago. I had such fun creating pretty envelopes. Have you read The Gift of a Letter? You’d like it. Happy week, friend!

  7. I love the envelope! Looks fun and easy too 🙂 You are so very talented at card and envelope making!

    I do hope you are enjoying your spring.

    Vicki

  8. Hello friend ~ I am good ~ how are you? We have had two rainy days, but it is looking up for later this week ~ maybe 72 degrees on Friday ~ Yay!

    It is fun making envelopes & sending them! 🙂

    I will do a library search and see if I can find The Gift of a Letter ~ sounds perfect! 🙂

    Happy week to you too!
    Sharon

  9. Vicki ~ You are so sweet! These envelopes are very fun & easy ~ my kind of project 😉

    It has been a chilly spring so far, cooler than normal but still lots of pretty flowers & colors to cheer us!

    Blessings to you,
    Sharon

Leave a Reply

