Strawberry Rhubarb pie

Cooler weather & some rain has returned for the weekend but even with an umbrella in hand, it’s always fun to browse at the local Farmer’s Market.  My husband noticed the rhubarb at the market stands and I had seen organic strawberries on sale at the grocery store, so I thought maybe I could try making him a strawberry rhubarb pie knowing it’s one of his favorites!  Of course, I think every pie is a favorite of his ~ Smile

He searched online for a recipe ~ many of them used minute tapioca which I didn’t have, so we decided upon this simple one that didn’t require us to buy extra ingredients.  The results were excellent and I definitely will be adding this to my recipe notebook.  I did leave out the salt in the filling and then I dabbed on some milk on the top crust before sprinkling on a bit of sugar ~ I’m not sure if adding the milk does anything or not but that’s the way my mom would do it! 🙂

The recipe can be found here if you would like to try it!

Sunday blessings!♥

Sharon

10 thoughts on “Strawberry Rhubarb pie

  1. Yum! I was just looking over the fence at my neighbor’s ripe rhubarb! She always shares with me so a pie might be in our future. Your pie looks absolutely perfect!

  2. That looks really good. My oldest daughter is going to make a strawberry rhubarb pie for our pie baking contest at Church this coming Sunday. A friend at church gave us a great big bag of rhubarb yesterday.

    Have a great day.

    ~Cheryl

  3. Oh, how nice of your neighbor to share, Pom Pom! I haven’t really used rhubarb much so I was very happy how this turned out!

    Sweet blessings on your week!
    Sharon

  4. Oh, how fun ~ a pie baking contest! And what a blessing to receive such a sweet gift of rhubarb! I am thinking I might like to try growing some next year!

    Blessings to you as you start your week!
    Sharon

  5. Hi Sharon,
    Your pie looks delicious! Strawberry rhubarb is my husband’s favorite pie. He would love that! I hope you are having a wonderful week.

  6. Thanks for sharing the recipe. We have rhubarb so I will definitely be trying out the pie. A friend of mine made strawberry rhubarb pie filling and canned it. I think I may try that. Enjoy your day and God bless.

Leave a Reply

