The roses are flourishing

The weather here has not been the best for gardening but my roses seem to be flourishing, and I love having fresh flowers to bring in!

The bush that this rose is from was here when we bought our house and it has brought such delight!  In-spite of my gardening ability,  it produces lovely roses that have the most wonderful fragrance!  While my mom was here visiting recently, she bought this pretty vase for me.  What a blessing moms are! I usually recycle bottles for vases or use something found inexpensively ~ so this one will be a treat!  The one in the previous post is actually a Good Seasons salad dressing cruet found at the thrift store, yet I think it makes such a pretty vase with the vines on it!  And one of my very favorite vases is this one ~ which is really a small pitcher, and purchased at the dollar store!

Now I am thinking about vase ideas ~ do you use traditional vases or do you like to use other things for flowers or arrangements?  I would love to hear your ideas!

May the Lord bless your day with an abundance of  joy and grace!

Sharon

12 thoughts on “The roses are flourishing

  1. Hello Sharon,
    Your roses (my favorite!) are simply gorgeous! So are the vases. I
    like to use all kinds of things as vases. I do have an assortment of
    beautiful vases that were my mother’s but I also use empty olive and
    sesame oil bottles–so pretty, as well as Mason jars and any thing
    else with a nice or unusual shape.
    Hope you and yours have a great 4th!
    Blessings,
    Sandy

  2. Pretty! For the longest time, I saved bud vases and it seemed like they overtook the cupboards. I still have a few. I have a few bowl vases leftover from Kelli’s wedding. Rosebuds with short stems look pretty floating in them. Now that you mention it, I just threw away a green glass lotion bottle. I’m going to go fish it out of the trash can!

  3. Hello Sharon.. Your roses are gorgeous… And I love your new vase.. My Mom collects crystal and vases… I am like you and tend to lean toward other containers.. Of course, mason jars are my favorites but I also love to collect old bottles and use them…
    Sending blesssings your way…

  4. Sharon, your roses are so, so pretty! I love your vases especially the small pitcher 🙂 My favorite vase is a tall, skinny, glass vase that came from the Dollar General. We have lots of little rose buds on our bushes and can’t wait for them to open!

    Hope you have a great weekend.

    Vicki

  5. Hi Sharon,
    Your roses are so beautiful! I have several regular vases I’ve collected over the years that I use. I like the ones you have, especially the little pitcher…so cute!

    Have a great day!!

  6. Beautiful blooms!!

    I have a collection of vases I’ve received here and there, but I also love to use pretty scrapbook paper to decorate large cans (cans we’ve used for baked beans or veggies and the like all cleaned out). I did this a couple of summers ago and cut hydrangea blooms from our yard to put inside them. I kept some inside our home and then gave some to friends! I posted a pic of it on a post entitled “Tin Can Decor” in February of 2010. =) Neat post!

    The pitcher is adorable ~ what a find!

    Blessings,
    Katie

  7. Thanks Susan, I do so enjoy the roses and other flowers this time of year. I think I am going to have to be on the lookout for some more simple vases as my supply seems to be dwindling!

    I hope you have a blessed weekend,
    Sharon

  8. Thanks, Vicki! Isn’t it such a blessing that some of our favorite things don’t have to cost much! 🙂 I’m sure your roses will be beautiful! I hope it won’t be long until you are enjoying their beauty and fragrance!

    Have a blessed weekend with your family,
    Sharon

  9. Hello Faye & blessings to you!

    Yes, mason jars ~ for some reason I seem to forget about them when it comes to flowers but I do love the country look they give. Thanks for the reminder!

    I hope your weekend is a blessed & joyful one! Happy Canada Day to you!
    Sharon

  10. Dear Pom Pom ~

    Your idea of floating roses sounds perfect for the wild rose growing outside our front fence ~ I’ll have to try it!

    You made me giggle with the mention of fishing your lotion bottle from the trash can! 🙂 I hope you were able to rescue it ~ I just love the look of flowers in green glass bottles ~ so simple & sweet!

    Have a lovely weekend,
    Sharon

  11. Sandy, aren’t roses such a joy? Your mother’s vases must be such a treasure. I too, like to use empty olive oil bottles ~ especially the smaller green ones, and Mason jars have such a lovely Country look. Thank you for sharing!

    Have a blessed 4th of July weekend with your family,
    Sharon

Leave a Reply

