Lavender time

For the last several years, we have been going to a nearby lavender farm.  It was a beautiful place, with a serene setting and a little gift shop, and they hosted a festival with craft vendors in July.  It had definitely become one of my favorite places ~ so I was really disappointed to find out that it is no longer open to the public.

So this year, our lavender fun is homemade!  Yesterday,  Annaleah, Abbie & I each cut some bundles to hang for drying.  And I am hoping to try making sachets for the first time this year!

The smell of lavender is so wonderful!  And now I am loving this pretty old-fashioned sight in my back hallway as I pass by!

I also planted eight new small lavender plants in my cutting garden.  They didn’t bloom this year, but hopefully they will provide us with more lavender joys next July!

Along with the lavender ~ Annaleah & I each found some flowers to pick to add a sweet summer touch to our homes!

I hope your days are filled with some of summer’s simple delights!

Joy to you,

Sharon

18 thoughts on “Lavender time

  1. Hi Sharon.. Lovely lavender.. It looks as wonderful as it smells, I am sure.. I think it is my favorite although I have not grown patchouli yet.. smile..
    Blessings..

  2. It really is lavender time at the moment. I am busy cutting all mine….lots of it! Did you know that you can take cuttings from your lavender bushes?

  3. Isn’t lavender time lovely, Elizabeth? I didn’t know that you could take cuttings ~ that’s wonderful! Thanks for letting me know.

    I hope your weekend is a restful and peaceful one!
    Sharon

  4. I was hoping to go to the lavender festival around us, but they did not advertise like they have in the past and we missed it. Your pictures are beautiful.

    Have a great day with your family.

    ~Cheryl

  5. Hi Sharon…your lavender is so pretty! I love the way that you have it hanging to dry. Such a sweet picture of the basket with the lavender…as well as the pretty bouquet from your flower garden. Have a lovely week! Hugs ♥ Teri

  6. Thank you, Teri ~ I am so enjoying seeing it hanging in the hallway ~ I just love lavender!

    I hope you are enjoying a lovely summer day filled with simple blessings!
    Sharon

  7. That is a disappointment I’m sure. I so looked forward to going to the festival at the farm and was quite disappointed to find out the farm here wasn’t open to the public anymore. Maybe I can just keep adding a little more here at home! 🙂

    I hope you are enjoying a blessed summer day, Cheryl!
    Sharon

  8. Hello sweet friend!

    One day as I was looking at a bouquet of garden flowers on my kitchen table, I was marveling at His handiwork in the flowers ~ all so different & beautiful & amazing really…when looking up close at the different designs. God’s creation is wonderful!

    May you be blessed & surrounded by His beauty today!
    Sharon

Leave a Reply

