Crafty things

Photobucket

Today I am linking up with Terri at Hearts in Service.  This semester Abbie has been learning knitting for Home-Ec.  Not knowing how to knit myself, I purchased an instruction DVD to use so the two of us could learn together.

This post is definitely not about perfection, but it is about the joy and satisfaction in learning a new skill.  Knitting always seemed kind of intimidating to me having the two needles, but I am enjoying it so much.

I started with this scarf using just the knit stitch as my first project, and just finished it up this week.

Then I wanted to work on a dishcloth/washcloth.  I really like this pattern, but my beginning and ending corners leave a little to be desired.  Hopefully, they will get better with practice.  And then I found an area with extra loops on the backside after I had bound off.  Fortunately, they don’t show much and I’m sure I will forget about them as I’m washing dishes! 😉

Thanks, Terri, for the link-up, and for the encouragement to be productive!

Weekend blessings, friends!

Sharon

9 thoughts on “Crafty things

  1. I want to learn knitting, too. I saw an ad for something called a Knook. You can knit using a crochet-like hook. Wal-mart sells them for around $7. I am thinking of getting one. I think your scarf is just lovely.

  2. I have just re-taught myself to knit and I love it. I really enjoy knitting dish/wash cloths and there are soooo many different patterns out there that I don’t get bored.

  3. Woah! Are you sure youre a beginner, Sharon hehe?
    THe purple scarf looks terrific and very even…I love the dishcloth too.,

    When I learnt knitting as a little girl, my Mom used to have to ‘turn it round’ for me at the end of the row! I do know what to do now,but I never progressed t sweaters or anything.
    A very companionable thing to do with your daughter.
    Blessings to you,
    xxx Hazelnut

  4. Dear Sharon … I love the scarf…such a pretty color! Your dish cloth looks very nice as well! Thank you for sharing your lovely handwork! Weekend Blessings ♥ Teri

  5. You did a great job! I haven’t even attempted knitting because I have a feeling I’d be all thumbs. LOL!!! I’m glad the linky thing worked for you!

  6. Knitting always seemed intimidating to me too. I’m glad you learned. Your projects look great. Enjoy your day and God bless

  7. Thank you, ladies, for your encouragement! I do love knitting! I am so happy to be able to make dish/wash cloths, and someday I would love to be able to make slippers!

    Have a blessed weekend,
    Sharon

Leave a Reply

